Welcome to my blog about the Lieutenant Governors of the United States! I know that some of you are asking why I am creating a blog about LG’s, who have the reputation of simply being tasked with the duty of waiting for a Governor to perish or resign, so that they may in turn move up the political ladder. Well, I became interested in the topic during my time as a graduate student, and found that academic journals are sorely lacking any substantial discussion of the office. Hopefully, this blog will help correct this oversight.

In these posts, I will be exploring what duties the LG’s are tasked with and perform in each state and territory; I think the results will surprise you.  In addition, I will explore the history of this office, and as interesting items about Lieutenant Governors come up across the country, I will discuss them here.     

 

